E&O Insurance for Insurance Agents: Compare 16 Providers
Agent E&O, short for errors and omissions, pays for your defense and any settlement when a client says a mistake in your work cost them money. Many carriers and IMOs won't appoint you without it.
We compared 16 insurers, association programs and online brokers on published price, the insurer behind the policy, defense terms and newly licensed options.
- Providers compared
- 16
- Publish a premium
- 5
- Offer a newly licensed track
- 2
Quick picks by need
Newly licensed or Medicare-only agent
A published newly licensed or Medicare-only price and a certificate you can show your IMO.
New agency in its first three years
An advertised rate for agencies in business under three years. The limit and deductible aren't stated.
P&C agency with staff
An agency policy that covers the agency and its employees.
Rockwood Programs, EOforLess, American Agents Alliance E&O, NAPA E&O, Big I Professional Liability, Utica National Agents E&O
Want a price before you apply
A premium or minimum premium is posted on the vendor's site.
EOforLess, American Agents Alliance E&O, NAPA E&O, Berkley Service Professionals insurance agent E&O, Hiscox Professional Liability for Insurance Agents
Pay by the month
Monthly payment plans instead of one yearly premium.
EOforLess, American Agents Alliance E&O, NAPA E&O, Hiscox Professional Liability for Insurance Agents
Apply and pay online
Apply and pay on the vendor's site. Some send proof of coverage later.
EOforLess, American Agents Alliance E&O, NAPA E&O, Insureon, CalSurance Associates, Hiscox Professional Liability for Insurance Agents, Get Insured 24/7, Progressive Commercial
Quick picks are matched on published features, not ranked. Each list follows our default order.
Compare 16 E&O providers
| Tool | Published price | Insurer | Lines | Policy form | Admitted | Defense outside limits | Newly licensed price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| InsureonOnline broker | Quote only | Several insurers | P&CLife and health | By insurer | Varies by insurer | By insurer | |
| EOforLessDistribution brand | From $374 a year, Medicare only | CNA | Life and healthP&CSecurities | Claims-made and reported | Admitted | ||
| Rockwood ProgramsProgram administrator | Quote only | Lloyd's of London | P&C | Claims-made | Not published | Yes, until $1M is spent in total | Track, quote only |
| NAPA E&OAssociation program | From $355 a year for a newly licensed agent | CNA | Life and healthP&CSecurities | Claims-made and reported | Admitted | ||
| American Agents Alliance E&OAssociation program | As low as $650 a year for new agencies, limit not stated | Markel American | Life and healthP&C | Claims-made and reported | Admitted | Yes, up to $1M | New agencies only |
| CalSurance AssociatesProgram administrator | Quote only | Berkley or Markel American | Life and healthSecurities | Claims-made and reported | Admitted | Yes, on NABIP only | |
| Utica National Agents E&OInsurer | Quote only | Utica Mutual | P&CLife and healthSecurities | Claims-made | Not published | Yes, on life and health only | |
| Big I Professional LiabilityAssociation program | Quote only | Swiss Re | P&CLife and healthSecurities | Claims-made | Admitted | ||
| Axis Insurance Services agents and brokers E&OBroker | Quote only | Named on the quote | P&CLife and health | Claims-made and reported | Varies by insurer | Yes, as an option | |
| Markel agents and brokers E&OInsurer | Quote only | Markel | P&C | Claims-made | Not published | By quote | |
| Berkley Service Professionals insurance agent E&OProgram administrator | Minimum $10,000 a year | Great Divide or Nautilus | P&CLife and health | Claims-made and reported | Admitted or surplus lines | Yes, as an option | |
| PIA Agents and Brokers E&OAssociation broker | Quote only | Several markets | P&CLife and health | By insurer | Varies by state | By insurer | |
| Travelers life and health agents E&O through AMBAInsurer | Quote only | Travelers | Life and healthMutual funds by optionP&C by option | Claims-made | Not published | Yes, on a limited basis | |
| Hiscox Professional Liability for Insurance AgentsInsurer | From $40 a month, limit not stated | Hiscox | Not stated | Claims-made and reported | Admitted | Not posted | |
| Get Insured 24/7Online brand | Quote only | Lloyd's of London | Life and health | Claims-made and reported | Surplus lines | Not posted | |
| Progressive CommercialOnline broker | Quote only | Named on the quote | Not stated | By insurer | Varies by insurer | By insurer |
Listed in our default order, which is built on trust factors, not on who pays us. Prices as of October 2026.
See what agencies pay in the cost guide.
Questions to ask before you buy
How much does agent E&O cost?
Published premiums start at $355 a year for a newly licensed life and health agent with $1 million per claim (NAPA, October 2026). Solo P&C agents start at $643 on EOforLess or $680 on NAPA, and P&C agencies start at $980 on both, while most other providers quote. Dues and fees can add to the bill, and a published premium is a starting point, not a quote.
Who issues the policy?
Check the insurer named on the quote, not just the program or broker. Its AM Best rating shows its financial strength.
Is it claims-made?
Almost all agent E&O is claims-made, so the policy in force when a client makes a claim is the one that pays. Keep your retroactive date, the earliest date of past work covered, when you switch.
Are defense costs inside or outside the limit?
Inside means legal bills shrink what's left to pay the client. Outside, or first-dollar defense, keeps the full limit for the claim.
What is a tail?
An extended reporting period lets you report claims after you stop buying coverage, such as when you retire or sell the agency. Check the price and the deadline to buy it.
Is the policy admitted?
An admitted policy is backed by your state's guaranty fund if the insurer fails. Surplus lines policies aren't. Where our table says not published, ask the vendor before you buy.
Frequently asked questions
What is E&O insurance for insurance agents?
Errors and omissions insurance covers an agent or agency when a client claims a mistake or a missed step in their insurance work caused a loss.
How is this list ordered?
We start from a default order built on trust factors, which are how many buyer facts the vendor publishes, whether its identity is verified, how openly it shows prices, how long it has been in business and an editorial review. Affiliate and paid links play no part, and a higher spot does not mean a better product. Read how we order vendors.
How we researched this. We based this page on each vendor's published pricing where available, terms and product pages, reviewed in October 2026, together with our team's experience working with insurance agents and agency owners since 2008.