InsuranceAgencyTools

Pinney Insurance review for agents: contracting, pay, release terms and leads

By the IAT editorial team | Updated October 9, 2026

Pinney Insurance is a family-owned life insurance brokerage in Roseville, California that contracts with independent agents and agencies nationally. It covers life, annuities, disability, long-term care and final expense. Pinney is known for application fulfillment, where you make the sale and its team handles the application through policy delivery.

Best for
Life agents who want to sell and hand off the paperwork, and agencies that want case support with room for a hierarchy
Lines
Life, annuities, disability, long-term care and final expense
Pay path
Varies by carrier
Monthly fees
No direct fee for its services and tools once you are contracted
Leads
A monthly lead program for agents licensed in five or more states

Our take

Payouts and overrides at Pinney are custom and shared during contracting. Vesting and book terms are not published, so get them in writing before you move business.

Pros

  • Application fulfillment where the agent keeps 100% of regular commission on sold cases
  • Published contracting timelines and pre-appointment rules
  • Published list of carriers that permit dual life appointments
  • Basic Insureio quoting and case-status tools with no direct fee under Pinney contracting

Cons

  • Payout schedule and overrides are not published
  • Renewal vesting and book ownership terms are not published
  • Pinney runs its own consumer direct-sales team and call center
  • E&O minimum of $1 million per claim

How you would join

  1. Sign up online

    Agents and agencies contract directly through Pinney's online system.

  2. Send your documents

    A license copy, AML through LIMRA, a voided check and an E&O page of at least $1 million per claim and $1 million aggregate.

  3. Pinney submits to the carriers

    Pinney may take 1 to 5 days to send a complete request with nothing missing, and carriers may take 2 to 14 days after that.

Contract with
Pinney Insurance Center, directly

Pinney is open contracting. Agents and agencies sign up directly through the online system, and the chain is agent or agency, then Pinney, then the carrier.

Agencies can build a hierarchy, and Pinney advertises hierarchy overrides.

How you get paid

Screenshot of Pinney Insurance's pricing page at pinneyinsurance.com
Pinney Insurance's pricing page at pinneyinsurance.com, as it looked on October 8, 2026.
Overrides
Hierarchy overrides for agencies with downlines

Pay path varies by carrier, and Pinney links each carrier's statement and payout system. Pinney does not state whether it holds each carrier contract directly with the carrier or through another marketing organization.

Pinney advertises hierarchy overrides and custom payouts, and it shares commission information during contracting. No line-by-line commission ranges, street-level definition, level increase rules or carrier bonus pass-through terms are published.

Leaving

If you come to Pinney from another agency, carriers that allow only one appointment may need a release before you submit business. Pinney lists American General, Banner, Genworth for fixed life and annuity, John Hancock, Lincoln, MetLife, North American, Principal, Prudential, Transamerica and Voya as allowing dual life appointments. These are carrier rules.

Advances, chargebacks and debt

Ask whether chargebacks are withheld from future pay and whether debt passes up the hierarchy.

Lines and carriers

LifeAnnuitiesDisabilityLong-term careFinal expense

Pinney covers life, annuities, disability, long-term care and final expense. Pinney says it has 60+ contracted carriers. Its final-expense quoter includes Guarantee Trust Life, Globe Life, Royal Neighbors, American General, Assurity and Mutual of Omaha.

Some carrier and state pairs need pre-appointment, such as Aetna in California, Florida, Georgia, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Texas. Application fulfillment excludes some carriers and has premium thresholds.

Leads, tools and who pays

Lead programs

ProgramLead typePrice
Pinney monthly lead programLeads in packages of 100 to 250, 250 to 500 or 500+ a monthFrom $22 a lead

The $22 price comes from an undated Pinney page with a 2019 footer, so confirm it before you buy.

Tools
Insureio quoting, submission and case status, application fulfillment and a final expense quoter
Who pays
No direct fee with Pinney contracting. Insureio marketing features start with a 30-day trial

Basic Insureio quoting, submission and case-status tools, application fulfillment and the final-expense quoter carry no direct fee with Pinney contracting. The lead program requires licenses in at least five states and at least 100 leads per month.

The lead offer page is marked Limited Time Only and carries a 2019 footer. Insureio marketing features come with a 30-day trial, and paid plan prices are not published.

Pinney runs a Direct Sales team and a consumer-facing call center. Agents can refer cases to that team for a 50% commission split.

Training and production

Support includes advanced planning and case design, an in-house underwriter, a medical director, case management, mentoring, study groups and webinars.

Contracting, certifications and E&O

Speed
1 to 5 days at Pinney, then 2 to 14 days at the carrier
Certifications
License copy and AML through LIMRA. Annuity CE and carrier training where required

You contract online with Pinney Insurance Center, Inc. Pinney says its team may take 1-5 days to submit a complete request with nothing missing and carriers may take 2-14 days after that. You need an active license copy, AML through LIMRA, a voided check and an E&O declaration page with at least $1 million per claim with a $1 million aggregate limit.

Pinney does not state who pays carrier or state appointment fees. It recommends E&O options but publishes no group E&O price or discount. Annuity sales may need state CE and carrier training.

Ownership and channel

Pinney is family-owned with no parent company named. It runs its own direct-sales team and call center that sell to consumers.

Frequently asked questions

What is Pinney application fulfillment?

You make the sale and Pinney handles the application, case management and policy delivery. Pinney says you keep 100% of the regular commission.

How long does Pinney contracting take?

Pinney says its team may take 1-5 days to submit a complete request with nothing missing and carriers may take 2-14 days after that.

What E&O do I need to contract with Pinney?

An E&O declaration page with at least $1 million per claim with a $1 million aggregate limit, plus a license copy, LIMRA AML and a voided check.

Do I need a release to contract with Pinney?

Only for carriers that allow one appointment. Many life carriers, including John Hancock, Lincoln, Principal and Prudential, allow dual appointments.

Can Pinney sell my clients for me?

Yes. Its Direct Sales team can take a referred case through the sale for a 50% commission split.

How we researched this review. We based this review on the terms and product pages published by Pinney Insurance, reviewed in October 2026, together with our team's experience working with insurance agents and agency owners since 2008.

Corrections

Vendors change their pricing all the time and they don't email us when they do. So if you see a price on here that's gone up, a plan Pinney Insurance quit selling or a contract term that reads different now, let us know and send the link to the page where Pinney Insurance has it. Somebody here pulls up that page and checks it before we change anything on ours.

Correct this listingClaim this listing