InsuranceAgencyTools

BackNine Insurance review for agents: contracting, pay, release terms and leads

By the IAT editorial team | Updated October 4, 2026

BackNine Insurance is a technology-led brokerage general agency for disability, life, annuity and long-term care business. Agents contract once in BOSS, its online contracting and quoting system, and BackNine appoints them with carriers just in time when they submit a case. BOSS and Quote & Apply carry no direct software fee when BackNine is the general agency.

Best for
Independent life agents and P&C agencies adding life who want carrier direct pay and self-serve quoting
Lines
Life, annuities, long-term care, disability and final expense
Pay path
Carrier pays you directly
Monthly fees
None on the standard agent model
Leads
No lead program, and no lead purchase required
Book ownership
BackNine says policyholders are your clients

Our take

BackNine has no lead or production requirement. Expect commissions paid as earned unless you qualify for annualization, which advances the first year's commission up front. Read the Terms of Use on chargebacks and vesting before you contract.

Pros

  • Carrier Pay sends your commission directly from the carrier
  • No direct software fee for BOSS and Quote & Apply under the BackNine contract
  • No lead purchase or production minimum to use the platform
  • Just-in-time appointments with no mass appointment
  • Public API and webhooks for case data

Cons

  • Advances need annualization approval with select carriers and set criteria
  • BackNine Pay lets chargebacks be recovered from uplines and agencies
  • Upline changes within one year need the current manager's sign-off
  • Commission schedules are visible only after BOSS registration

How you would join

  1. Sign up

    Join directly or through an upline's referral link.

  2. Enter your details in BOSS

    You fill in contracting details once. Have E&O in place before your first case.

  3. Submit a case

    BackNine appoints you with that carrier when you submit business, alongside underwriting in most states.

BackNine is open contracting with an optional referral downline. You can sign up directly or through an upline's referral link. The chain is agent, then an optional marketing manager or upline, then BackNine as general agency, then the carrier.

An upline who refers agents earns the difference between its commission level and the downline's level when the downline places business. Recruiting is optional. A captive transition program is not publicly stated.

How you get paid

Screenshot of BackNine Insurance's pricing page at back9ins.com
BackNine Insurance's pricing page at back9ins.com, as it looked on October 8, 2026.
Street level
The 100% level on a BackNine schedule is the full agent commission
Starting level
Carrier schedules show in BOSS once you register
Overrides
A referring upline earns the gap between its level and yours

Carrier Pay is the standard path. The carrier pays you and pays BackNine its general-agent commission separately.

Optional BackNine Pay routes commissions through BackNine for agencies that split pay across several levels. Variable product pay often goes to the broker-dealer.

Its 100% label refers to receipt of the agent commission, and product rates follow carrier schedules. Registered agents can look at renewal, first-year and excess commissions in BOSS.

Ask BackNine for its contract holder level with each carrier.

Leaving

Changing your upline
Send an email or letter of instruction. Your marketing manager signs too if you wrote business in the past year or joined less than a year ago
Renewal vesting
Only as far as the carrier vests them in BackNine, so ask carrier by carrier
Debt when you leave
Repay a returned commission within 30 days

To change upline or marketing manager, send an email or letter of instruction. If you submitted business in the past year or signed up less than one year ago, your current marketing manager must also sign. Dual appointments are available in many cases depending on carrier, state and existing contract.

A release fee and turnaround are not publicly stated. BackNine may recover unpaid amounts from related uplines, agencies and other payment recipients under BackNine Pay.

Policyholders are the advisor's clients, and BackNine does not share data between unaffiliated advisors.

The API and webhooks move case data to your systems, while a bulk export after leaving is not published.

Advances, chargebacks and debt

Advances
Paid as earned. Annualization on select carriers and products if you qualify

Commissions pay out as they are earned, unless annualization is approved. Annualization works with select carriers and products and needs criteria such as a professional designation, a securities license, a credit score above 720 or five active policies with BackNine.

If a commission has to go back to a carrier, BackNine may repay the carrier and requires reimbursement within 30 days. The Terms of Use let BackNine debit future commissions and recover collection costs. Under BackNine Pay, unpaid chargebacks can be recovered from uplines and agencies that shared in the payment.

Lines and carriers

LifeAnnuitiesLong-term careDisabilityFinal expense

BackNine covers disability, long-term care, annuities, life insurance and final expense. BackNine says it has 60+ carrier relationships.

Named carriers include Allianz, American Equity, Assurity, Athene, Corebridge, Global Atlantic, Mutual of Omaha, Nationwide, Prudential and Transamerica. Quote & Apply can show a subset of the full panel, and variable products need a securities license.

Leads, tools and who pays

Tools
BOSS, Quote & Apply and carrier appointment processing
Who pays
No direct software fee with BackNine contracting. Leads you choose to buy are your cost
Monthly fee
None on the standard agent model
Data portability
API, CSV and webhooks send case data to your systems

BackNine does not require lead purchases or production to use its tools.

The standard agent model has no recurring software or membership fee. Leads or advertising that you choose to buy are your cost, and no BackNine lead price is published. BOSS, Quote & Apply and carrier appointment processing carry no direct software fee with BackNine contracting.

Agencies that keep their own contracts can buy the platform as SaaS starting at $3,000 for setup. Custom domain webpages cost $1,000 one time.

Those prices cover different products. Quote & Apply runs on your own website, and a BackNine retail call center is not published.

Training and production

Production minimums
None to use the platform

BackNine provides case management, underwriting support, advanced case design and a sales desk that runs illustrations. BackNine advertises around-the-clock support. There is no production minimum to use the platform.

Contracting, certifications and E&O

Certifications
Life license. Securities license for variable products
E&O required
Yes, before your first case

You enter contracting details once in BOSS with BackNine Insurance and Financial Services, Inc. BackNine appoints you with a carrier when you submit business there. Carrier appointment processing is included in the agent model, while state licensing remains an agent cost.

BackNine says appointments run alongside underwriting in most states, and pre-appointment states pause eSign until the appointment has been completed. You need a life license to write and E&O coverage before your first case. A group E&O offer or discount is not publicly stated.

Ownership and channel

Ownership
Privately held, with no parent named

BackNine is privately held.

Frequently asked questions

Does BackNine pay me or does the carrier?

Under the standard Carrier Pay path the carrier pays you directly and pays BackNine separately. BackNine Pay is an option that routes commissions through BackNine.

Can I get advances through BackNine?

Only through annualization, which works with select carriers and products. Criteria include a professional designation, a securities license, a credit score above 720 or five active policies with BackNine.

Do I pay for BOSS and Quote & Apply?

No direct software fee applies when BackNine is your general agency, and no lead purchase or production minimum is required.

Can I leave BackNine or change uplines?

Send an email or letter of instruction. Within one year of signup or of your last submitted case your current marketing manager must also sign. Renewals vest to the same extent the carrier vests them in BackNine.

How fast can I start writing?

Enter contracting once in BOSS and BackNine appoints you when you submit a case. You need a life license and E&O coverage before your first case.

How we researched this review. We based this review on the terms and product pages published by BackNine Insurance, reviewed in October 2026, together with our team's experience working with insurance agents and agency owners since 2008.

Corrections

Vendors change their pricing all the time and they don't email us when they do. So if you see a price on here that's gone up, a plan BackNine Insurance quit selling or a contract term that reads different now, let us know and send the link to the page where BackNine Insurance has it. Somebody here pulls up that page and checks it before we change anything on ours.

Correct this listingClaim this listing